Bra Review: Comexim Aida half cup (3HC), 60HH, and briefs, M, with custom alterations

It’s perfect. Is this a dream? The two most pie-in-the-sky aspirations for me in a piece of lingerie are that the garment is uniquely beautiful, and that it fits. It doesn’t sound like much to ask, does it? Shouldn’t all lingerie be pretty and comfortable at the same time? Alas, in the nearly 6 years since I’ve been searching for the bra that fits, a gorgeous and perfectly well-fitting garment has been the most elusive unicorn ever. Don’t even get me started on the matching bottoms. And then this amazing set appeared at my door and I’m head-over-heels in love with it. This is the set I’ve been waiting for.

Appearance

In my last review, I gushed praised over my Matthiola 3HC and how both Anna and Joanna at Comexim consistently outdo themselves to make the most beautiful lingerie ever. That bra was truly something special, but I’ve saved the best for last. The star of my order was this Aida half cup with matching customs briefs. It’s even more beautiful in person than on the website. I’m struggling to put the beauty into words, so I will just show you.

Now, this isn’t a brand new style from Comexim. I had seen it pop up on the website some time ago. At that moment, I was struggling to find my fit in a plunge cut, and I and hadn’t yet embraced the “strappy” trend that was increasing in popularity. I may be late to that particular party, but my last few lingerie purchases have been of the strappy variety and I think it’s very fun and surprisingly comfortable. The bikini bottoms weren’t my cut, either, so my eyes skipped over the set too readily. I am so thankful that I stopped for a second look.

Can we talk about the print? Paisley. I have always loved paisley, and this is the most classic of colorways, with a stunning cranberry-red smooth velvet trim and bow on the center gore. It feels both fun and elegant at the same time. It reminds me of cozy autumn evenings. The interior is soft black cotton. The band has a standard 3×2 hook closure.

This beautifully finished piece has luxurious finishing touches in the form of gold adjusters, chain, and a gold heart charm. The additional multiway straps and fixtures allow for the strappy neck detail to be attached in a variety of different configurations. Not pictured are an additional set of straps that go straight across instead of clasping around the neck. I love the versatility that enables this to be worn comfortably for work or play. It’s underwear and jewelry at the same time when the straps and gold charm are left visible.

Just when I thought it couldn’t get more magical, enter the custom bottoms. I asked Joanna to create high-waisted bottoms that maintain the elastic detail but give me a little more coverage. With these very basic instructions, she created a masterpiece. They fit like a dream. I so rarely order the matching bottoms because I don’t know what size to get. The M fits equivalent to most of my UK 12 briefs from brands like Panache. I hope that helps those who are also curious about sizing.

This set is so beautiful that I have to force myself to wear it instead of keeping it pristine to be admired as part of my collection. 

Size & Fit

I custom ordered Aida as a 3HC (3-part half cup) in 60HH with alterations including overlapping gore, straps moved in, and added depth in the cup just above the wire. This is obviously my sweet spot for alterations because it is the most glorious fit I’ve ever had in any bra. I now understand what everyone has been raving about when it comes to finding your Comexim size and fit. Aida comes standard as a plunge. Regular readers will know that the plunge cut hasn’t worked out the best for me, so I am happy to have found my way back to the 3HC, and also for the fact that Comexim is so accommodating with alterations.

The usual overlapping wires at the gore makes for a narrower space between the cups, which is accommodating to my close-set and center-full breasts. Added depth at the wire gives more space for bottom-fullness. If you ever have a bra that dimples at the bottom of the cup, like your tissue can’t fill it even though it feels like you need more space, this alteration is for you.

Although it’s always difficult to tell precisely how alterations like “added depth” compare to an unaltered bra in this 3HC cut since I haven’t ordered one, I have to say that the cups are very comfortable. My other favorite half cup bras from other brands have quite a deep bottom of the cup that allows the space for my fuller-on-bottom shape. A deep, narrow half cup is consistently my best fit. For example, Fauve half cups and the Cleo Breeze longline fit this shape model.

The cups gives a wonderfully round and uplifted profile, often described as “cakes on a plate”. The bra lifts and holds me so well that my fears about the strappy details looking weird were immediately assuaged. I used to think that strappy details only worked for women who had a fuller on top bust shape and taller roots than I have. I am happily surprised that the straps sit perfectly against my skin. There is no cutting in or sagging anywhere. They were perfect for me out of the box, but the straps are adjustable anyway, so a perfect fit is all but guaranteed. If you’ve been curious but nervous about a strappy style and looking for a fuller bust option, I can’t recommend Aida enough.

I mentioned in my previous review that my other bra in this order in the exact same size and cut (Matthiola), had a firmer than expected band. Aida’s band is more true-to-size and supremely comfortable.

As mentioned above, the briefs in size M are a perfect fit, comparable to a UK 12.

Comfort

Usually I have to make some kind of statement here to justify a fit issue, or an annoyance with the materials, finishing, build or some such that interferes with the comfort level. Not here. The materials are wonderfully soft and supple. I was nervous that the strappy details might itch or scratch or be otherwise annoying under a shirt, or that the neck clasp on the chain detail would bother me, as I have sensory issues that can be problematic. None of those things happened.

Quality

Comexim is my favorite brand for a reason. On top of the beautiful designs and unbeatable customer service, the quality and thoughtful attention to detail for every garment is always outstanding. I’ve said this before and I’ll keep saying it!

Final Thoughts

Perfection!

Measurements

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.